LifeSciences British Columbia today announced the recipients of the 2010 LifeSciences British Columbia Awards. They are:

Genome BC Award for Scientific Excellence:

– Drs. Marco Marra, Rob Holt, and Steven Jones – Michael Smith Genome Sciences Centre

Innovation & Achievement:

– Dr. Andy Hoffer – Lungpacer Medical

Leadership Award:

– Mr. Don Avison

Medical Device Company of the Year:

– Neoteric

Life Sciences Company of the Year:

– Cardiome Pharma Corp.

These awards are presented annually by LifeSciences British Columbia to recognize individuals and organizations that have made outstanding contributions to the development of British Columbia’s life sciences industry across all sub-sectors, from biopharmaceuticals and medical devices to bioproducts and bioenergy – sectors which are critical to the economic future of the province and country.

“The theme of our 2010 LifeSciences BC Awards is ‘Bridges to the Future’, and each of these recipients has brought us new knowledge, leadership, innovation and technologies to create a better future for humankind,” commented Karimah Es Sabar, President of LifeSciences British Columbia. “We thank and applaud each of them for their tremendous efforts, insight, and commitment to a better future through great science and the commercialization and adoption of that science achieved right here in British Columbia.”

The awards will be presented at a gala ceremony Wednesday, April 14th, 2010 in front of an audience of approximately 600 biopharmaceutical, medical device, bioproducts, bioenergy and greater life sciences community and public policy leaders at the Vancouver Convention Centre. Please visit for full details.

The LifeSciences British Columbia Awards are presented by Ernst & Young; Farris, Vaughan, Wills & Murphy, LLP; Genome British Columbia; and Rx&D (Canada’s Research-Based Pharmaceutical Companies). Media sponsor: Business in Vancouver Magazines.